Guidelines to Renting a Vehicle in Charlotte, North Carolina
Standard Renters are considered to be between the ages of 25 and 80 years old. We can make exceptions if you are between the ages of 21 and 25 if you have your own full-coverage insurance
that will transfer to our rental vehicle.
A valid U.S. driver's license is required at the time of rental. The rental cannot extend past the expiration date on the driver's license. Foreign travelers are required to have an international driver's license and a native-country-issued driver's license. These must be in English so that we can read them; if not, they will not be accepted.
We accept the following major credit cards: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, JCB, American Express and Diners Club. We also will accept Visa or MasterCard check cards if they are issued through a major bank and linked to a checking account. Additional qualifications are required with cash, pre-paid cards or secured credit cards. Call our office for details.
Standard deposit is the expected amount of the rental plus $100.00. Cash customers that are approved on a cash rental application will pay the expected amount of the rental plus $150.00. If you are using anything other than a major credit card, you must call us to make a confirmed reservation. If you have a cash refund from your rental, it may be issued via check from our corporate office.
Additional Drivers/Underage Drivers
There is a $10.00/day fee for anyone listed as an additional driver. Additional drivers must be present at the time of rental with a valid driver's license to be added to the rental agreement. If the driver is between 21 and 25, there is a $15.00/day underage fee. Underage drivers are required to have their own insurance coverage that will transfer to the rental vehicle.
Carolina Rent A Car does have geographical limitations, so if you are planning on traveling outside the Carolinas, Virginia, Georgia or Tennessee, please call our office for current rates and availability.
It is always the best practice to contact your local insurance agent and verify if you have adequate coverage on your personal vehicle or if you would need additional coverage from us. Many insurance companies have changed their coverage and how that coverage will transfer to a rental vehicle. If you are underage, you will need proof of full-coverage insurance (liability and collision) at the time of rental.
The customer is required to return the rental vehicle with the same amount of fuel as was noted on the rental agreement and/or condition report at the time of rental. Should the vehicle be returned with less fuel than when rented, the renter will be charged a refueling fee at a premium price above pump price.
Carolina Rent A Car also has appliance dollies, GPS, DVD systems and hitch inserts with balls available for rent at an additional charge. Be sure to ask a customer service rep for details, availability and prices.
One-Way Rentals or Dropped Vehicles
Carolina Rent A Car does not allow the vehicle to be returned to any other location than our rental office during normal business hours. Should a vehicle be left/dropped/abandoned anywhere other than our office, the renter will be charged a fee according to the terms and conditions of the rental agreement for this action.
Should the renter incur any parking tickets, violations or any other citations while driving our vehicle, they will be charged the amount of the penalty plus an administrative fee for us having to handle or transfer liability to the responsible party. Carolina Rent A Car currently collects the NC Highway Use tax, city/county Tax, U-Drive It tax, and a license fee. Rates quoted via website may not have all fees and taxes listed, so be sure to print your confirmation for accurate records.